The imperious Bamburgh Castle has dominated the beautiful Northumberland coastline for well over 1,400 years and remains one of the most visited citadels in the UK…
Occupying nine acres of the Great Whin Sill, the castle has been the home of the Armstrong family since 1894 and has many ghost stories for those wishing to stay in the glorious accommodation on offer. It is also believed to be the site of Sir Lancelot’s fictitious castle, Joyous Garde.
It was inventor, William George Armstrong who decided to purchase Bamburgh Castle back in 1894. The castle still houses his unique collection of artwork, ceramics and objets d’art that he cherished.
The castle boasts a wonderful museum including 14 staterooms, treasured artwork, Battle of Britain exhibition, outdoor cinema and many other family orientated attractions.
Address: Bamburgh, Northumberland NE69 7DF
Telephone: 01668 214515
Owned by: The Armstrong family
Opening times: October-February weekends only, 11.00 – 16.30 (last admission 15.30). February-November open daily 10.00 – 17.00 (last admission 16.00)
Public access: Prams and pushchairs are welcome in the grounds but not the interior. Storage is provided. Only registered assistance dogs are permitted in the grounds.